Sometimes: Remember Eczema Doesn’t Define You

letitgo
Image source

The weather in Hong Kong has been rainy, rainy, rainy and the past few weeks have seen several scary thunderstorms. The change in weather hasn’t helped my eczema at all. I find I gravitate to this blog when my eczema gets bad and when it gets better, I move on to pretty and happier things, like my Pinterest, which I add to daily, as well as a home interior and food blogs (you can take a look at some of them, I’ve added a blogroll section).

I’ve been looking back to the beginnings of this blog and I’m trying to remember how I managed to stay so upbeat about the skin condition. I feel the worst in the summers (I think… or maybe it’s in the winter during a super dry spell) because the heat means there’s no covering up my skin. It’s embarrassing. And I always want to question the Gods, WHY, WHY, WHY do I have to have eczema? I get jealous of other girls, who are natural and pretty and seem to put in zero effort to maintain their looks. Lack of sleep doesn’t make them flare up or break out. Too much of sweet / spicy / salty / flavoured / insert-allergy-triggering-foods-here foods don’t cause them to break a sweat, and their skin certainly doesn’t angry just because they forgot to moisturize once or twice. I feel awful about myself and that my body can’t handle the same stress.

It’s the first question I ask when I’m fed up of trying to ignore an itch, wishing the whole itchy drama would stop or figuring out an appropriate fashion combo to cover up my rashes. WHY do I have eczema? But the thing is – it’s a question that everyone asks at some point. Why do I have to be fat? Why do I have to be short? Why did I have to get cancer? Why am I unpopular? Whatever the problem is, you can be sure that someone has it.

The truth is that life isn’t perfect – for anyone. And often times it’s just important to remember and appreciate the things you DO have – I appreciate that I have a good job, that I’m able to travel the world and soak up different sights and cultures, that I don’t have any other major health problems, that I have great relationships with my family and friends. Sometimes, when your eczema gets you down, you just have to remember – life doesn’t actually suck so bad. It could be much worse.

One response to “Sometimes: Remember Eczema Doesn’t Define You”

  1. Tanya says :

    Bad skin can keep you from feeling 100% confident. Don’t worry, we have an Amazon Herb skincare solution that will allow you to kiss your bad skin days goodbye: http://bit.ly/IWPlgu

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

