No Bake Mac and Cheese

Mac and Cheese
Mac and Cheese

I think the last time I had Mac and Cheese was when I was in a school cafeteria, at least five years ago.  It’s not really a dish that’s served in Hong Kong – it’s more likely to be found as a pasta dish with a creamy sauce that combines five different cheeses.

So on Saturday night, I attempted to make a no-bake mac and cheese dish from this recipe. I’m still a beginner chef when it comes to savoury foods, so I figured I would modify the recipe and use cheaper cheese options. The result was fabulous, with a sauce that wasn’t too creamy or too cheesy. I skipped the cornstarch for a runnier texture as well as the bread crumbs to keep cooking time under 30 minutes and served up a simple dish of veggies on the side.

Easy Macaroni and Cheese Recipe – modified ingredients
2 cups of elbow macaroni
1 cup of heavy cream
1/2 cup of milk
1.5 cups of Cheddar cheese (shredded)
1 cup of Gruyere cheese (sliced as I couldn’t find my grater)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

