Food for thought.

I’m supposed to be cramming for an exam that’s tomorrow. I’m nowhere near ready but I can’t seem to concentrate and all I can think about is blogging (and also reading my favourite blogs over and over again).

I’ve been meaning to try oatmeal for a while now because it’s supposed to help bowel movement (clearing the body of toxins and therefore improving overall health, including skin health), so I’ve been begging my mother to save me a few bites the next time she has some at home. I forgot to take a picture of the porridge-like mixture this morning but I can tell you my first experience with oatmeal was not too pleasant. I immediately thought of “gruel” from Oliver Twist, even though my mom added honey. (Okay, so I’ve never had gruel before but I’m pretty sure it’s not listed under the word “delicious” in the dictionary. The oatmeal porridge does have potential though, because there are so many ways to cook it. If it had been yummier and savoury, I might describe it like congee, which I love). Oatmeal in baked goodies is fine though, but until we move into our new apartment, that’s not happening.

006c Oatmeal
Oatmeal baked goodies I can’t wait to try at the new apartment.
Banana nut muffins with oatmeal streusel (image from HERE). Oatmeal, chocolate chip and pecan cookies (image from HERE).

I skipped lunch and headed to 大家樂 (Cafe de Coral) for their afternoon tea. I absolutely love their breakfast and tea sets and they bring about a sense of nostalgia, reminding me of 茶餐廳 (Cha Chan Teng) food, even though they’re a fast food chain. My favourite is the macaroni and ham in soup, which I add to my order every time and can never seem to recreate perfectly at home. I almost always get the milk tea to go so that I can sip on it comfortably elsewhere. 奶茶s (lai cha= milk tea) aren’t something that I can indulge in though. In Chinese medicine, 奶茶s are considered very 濕熱 (wet and heated elements, more about these elements later), which exacerbate eczema.

006d Afternoon Tea CDC
Afternoon tea at Cafe de Coral. Taken with my iPhone, whose camera is sometimes better than my Olympus, and edited with myFilmLite app.

Back to cramming.

Leave a Reply

