LeAnn Rimes Talks about Psoriasis in a Video

LeAnn Rimes’ “Stop Hiding. Start Living.” video showed up in my G Reader last week. She talked about how she dealt with and linked me to Comcast, so for some reason I thought it was new. The next day I tried to go back, it was taken down. Boohoo! Luckily, I scoured YouTube for the clip so I could link to it here. It’s so awesome to hear her talk about it – she looks great and she looks confident in talking about psoriasis.


LeAnn Rimes. “Stop Hiding. Start Living” video to raise awareness for Psoriasis.

Here’s an even better one I found while digging for the one above. Each person’s story shared is incredibly thoughtful and inspiring.


Psoriasis sufferers speak out – inspirational!

I think anyone with a skin condition, whether it’s psoriasis, eczema or acne can relate to what these P sufferers are saying. I want to reach out and hug the girl who talked about her swimming pool experience. I haven’t been to a pool in the longest time but I’ve rejected a whole summer’s worth of junk parties this year because I didn’t want to get on the boat and show my skin. (I also don’t really like going on junks, but that’s not my point). Having a skin condition is embarrassing and we all want to hide it. I wake up everyday and spend 5-10 minutes just thinking about what I’m going to wear. I check my scars or angry red rashes and think: Okay I need a cardigan today because I need to cover up this rash on my inner elbow or, No pencil skirt today because the scar on the back of my knee is really prominent. And on the odd occasion that my rashes are exposed, I know I look like a deer caught in the headlights whenever someone says, “What happened to your arm? Are you okay?” or worse, “Oh my GOD! What happened to your arm?! Are you okay?!” I literally freeze in embarrassment and I can feel a shocked expression on my face. How I do even respond to that?

LeAnn Rimes talks about how she explained to her husband (just curious, Eddie Cibrian or her Dean Sheremet?) on their first date, and how her husband said, “Yeah I have a friend who has psoriasis so I know what it is.” How many people are lucky enough to have that kind of situation? I get the “What happened to you arm question about once a week. I got it last week when I had my driving exam, my instructor saw my inner elbow for the first time and said, “What happened to your arm, is it ok?”. I get it at the store, when I’m trying on a dress and the shop keeper is zipping me up and says, “What happened to your arm? It’s eczema right?” I get it in the office pantry too. Do I really want to be standing in my office pantry explaining, “Okay well, it’s eczema. I’ve had eczema ever since I was a baby and this is what it is…”

Anyway, I hope these videos make you feel positive despite whatever skin condition you have, because they certainly put me in a more empowering and positive mood!

I get a lot of interest in my blog posts about psoriasis, much more so than eczema it seems, so I just wanted to post a few more links today. I should clear up again, that I thought I had psoriasis (and it was possibly a misdiagnosis) but it is likely that the thick, rough patch of skin is just a very bad case of eczema (severe lichenification through scratching caused the allergic rash to thicken, giving it the same appearance as a psoriatic flare up). My dermatologist has recommended that I treat the patch as eczema, using the same antihistamine and steroid treatments, rather than treat the patch as psoriasis. The number one reason that we (the doc and I) are ruling out psoriasis is because psoriasis is mostly genetic and it is extremely rare for an individual to have both psoriasis and eczema. Most of the literature agrees with this (here and here, although I did find a 1994 article that says otherwise.

What is Psoriasis?
Take a look at the FAQs offered by:

How do people deal with psoriasis?
Check out these P sufferers blogging about their experiences:

It also helps to hear about others who are going through the same thing. What works for them might not work for you, but the more you know and understand about the disease, and the more you observe what’s going on with your body, the closer you are to keeping your flare ups in check!

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

